18 Wonderful Months

Dear Meimei,

In my Facebook profile my status was: “ Thank you Lord for 18 wonderful and blessed months…” Yes my little one, you’re 18 months old today and the past months have truly been wonderful and full of God’s blessings. They weren’t perfect months but in every difficulty or mishaps, God has always shown HIS favor and HE has never left us.

Allow me to share with you what took place today:

Our day started as the usual weekend – woke up late because we slept late the other night. Had crab and shrimp for lunch (for the three of us) and yours were broccoli and pork 🙂 After lunch you asked for “Titi” (mama’s milk) and of course, fell asleep after that… Both of us did actually. Your papa and ahia however spent the whole afternoon cleaning the aquarium as your papa wanted to give you FISHY for your gift! But because you woke and I woke up late, we weren’t able to buy fish (but we’ll buy them tomorrow) but instead, we went to Walmart. For the first time you rode the Merry-Go-Round, the 4 of us went inside 😀 You got scared as you can see in your pictures but you didn’t cry, you just wanted to hug me while you’re riding. We had a tour in the park and it was just fun.

IMG_9025

After the fun we did our usual grocery weekend and here you are again on this infant friendly grocery cart… You look like a “DONA” enjoying the ride! The next best thing was… Papa bought you your BOOTS! ” Taray!” 18 months old wearing boots! How I wish I had them when I was your age! It looks great on you and even if the color didn’t match your outfit, you wore it perfectly! Look at you! I’m sure if your Angkong sees your picture he’ll say, “dalagang putut” (little lady)!

boots

Oh, I thought you’d be interested to know what you’re capable of doing at this time so here’s a few of the significant ones:

1. Eat holding the bowl and drink in a cup with minimal supervision –  I just give you your food. You eat, I eat…

2. Three days ago you started going down the half-step stairs in our village by yourself – I was just right in front of you just  in case you fall you won’t get hurt. But you have shown me you can handle yourself 🙂

3. You are not so interested with singing the ABC’s… you would rather READ – yes my dear, at 17.5 months you started reading and by now, you already know when the words you’re familiar with are upside down.

4. You enjoy watching (just your top favourites):

(a)Praise Baby Collection – your favourite since you were 6 months… this video has been instrumental in our worship time together. You know that when I say “Worship God” you would raise your hands as an act of worship.

(b) Your Baby Can Read – when I say, “Meimei can…” you then say “READ”! you enjoy reading very much!

(c) Baby Signing Time – when I say, “Baby Signing…” you then say “TIME” and sign time 🙂 you like signing especially using the flash cards on your kit 🙂

(d) Jollibee – I let you watch for your Filipino lesson 🙂

(e) Glee – especially Poker Face and Say a Little Prayer (you and your papa watch that almost everynight)

(f) In the Jungle – HAPPY HIPPO, which is also one of your ahia’s favourites

(g) Pictures and Videos of people in Bacolod (especially your Ama and Angkong), babies and animals

5. You can get up and down the bed without any help, you’ve learned this since you were over 15 months

There are so much more I can write about you my “plangging”, but the part that I am most proud of is allowing you to grow being YOU. You have your way of expressing yourself – to show love, anger or delight. Your papa and I have given you freedom to choose, as long as that choice won’t hurt you. You may only be 18 months but we’ve always respected you as a person, a unique one at that.

May you live in the circle of God’s blessing… Completely sorrounded by HIS LOVE.

Happy 18 months baby…

IMG_9120

3 responses to “18 Wonderful Months

  1. Meimei is beautiful girl now.

  2. You are such a great Mommy!~ and Meimei is sooooo cute~~ I wish I could half as good as you are!!

  3. Dear Maricar,

    I can’t imagine having to take care of 2 kids and still have the time to do other things like you do. You always have that energy and enthusiasm to learn more, do more, and share more. I believe that’s one of the reasons why God blessed you with Mei-Mei and EJ who, like Mom, is just awesome 🙂

    I enjoy reading and getting ideas from your blogs. They teach me too! Xie Xie Ni! 🙂

Leave a comment